10.20.09

how it’s going

with 2 comments

I made more meetings this past week.  I went to a new one in the city I work in (an hour away) and it seemed like a pretty nice one.  I’ll go back.  My days are long, but I enjoy them.  I see that this arrangement could be isolating…but I am not going to worry about that right now. It doesn’t matter.   All that matters is not drinking and going to work.

I have begun reading the Big Book the official Big Book Step Study Meeting (I affectionately refer to it as the “school supplies group”) way.  This consists of highlighting directions or suggestions in yellow, warnings or ominous stuff in pink, and promises and positive statements in green.   It’s causing me to read more slowly and that’s a fine thing.  I read a little at a time – I’m just starting Into Action.  (At the beginning I was continuously bothered that Pink wasn’t Positive,  Warnings weren’t Yellow,  Directions Green, but life on life’s terms. Acceptance is the answer to all my problems.)

This is unsanctioned or renegade BBSS reading – sponsor S goes and has a BBSS sponsor, and is passing suggestions along to me.  I wonder if it matters that my activity has no community affiliation.  It feels kind of flat – but I often experience reading the book that way, just because I’ve read it probably more than any other book on earth, except maybe the Rock and Roll Encyclopedia I had when I was in junior high.

Written by xty

March 28, 2010 at 10:02

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good thoughts…Solid path…the point of reading the BB is to establish a common ground of understanding among members of the fellowship…Face it, there is no other so-called “mandatory” attribute to AA other than read and adhere to what the BB says…
    It’s rather like the common foundation everyone in AA has, the only commonality…Once you get the foundation in place, you have some lee-way as to how you want to construct the walls…Maybe you want windows every 10 feet…Maybe you want a parapet…So long as you adhere to the foundation principles, the remaining structure is yours to determine…There are no other rules…
    That being said, what difference does it make how you read it?…If someone had a criteria you had to be hanging upside down on a trapeze to do it correctly, while I’m not certain I’d go along with it, the point is it gets read…You’re doing the exact right thing because it works for you…

    RoWo

    March 28, 2010 at 12:06

    • …it couldn’t possibly be that simple! what about my anguish? what about my ennui? ;0)

      xty

      March 28, 2010 at 12:18


Leave a Reply

